People

Contact

Department Chair: Dr. Andrea Rotstein
andrea.rotstein@mail.huji.ac.il
Phone: +972-2-5880302

Department Secretary: Sara Parnassa
 sarap@savion.huji.ac.il 
Phone: 02-5883965                             

Department of Classical Studies
The Faculty of Humanities
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Mount Scopus
Jerusalem, 9190501

 

illustration

Faculty

Amiel Vardi

Dr. Amiel Vardi

Department Chair
Students’ consultant
02-5883913
amiel.vardi@gmail.com
Room 7717. Reception time: Tue., 13:00-14:00

Research Interests: Latin poetry, Intellectual life in Rome, The interplay between literature, philosophy, values, and social and political ideology

Mr. Dmitry Ezrohi

Dmitry.Ezrohi@mail.huji.ac.il
Reception time by appointment

Mr. Dmitry Ezrohi is a research student at the Department of Classical Studies, and member of the MA honors program of the Mandel School for Advanced Studies in the Humanities.

drIlanaklutstein

Dr. Ilana Klutstein

052-8333118
Room 7714, reception time: Tue., 09:00-10:00 (by appointment).
Research interests: The classical heritage in the Renaissance, Neoplatonism in the Renaissance, Medieval Exemplum literature and its similarities with …
Orly Lewis

Dr. Orly Lewis

orly.lewis@mail.huji.ac.il
Room: 6722

Areas of Research: Science and Medicine in Greece and Rome; Body and soul in Greece and Rome; Scientific and technical language in antiquity; Exploration of fragments.

Yakir  Paz

Dr. Yakir Paz

yakir.paz@mail.huji.ac.il
Room 1113, Rabin building

Research Interests: Homeric scholia, Hellenistic Judaism; Ancient Magic; Roman and Rabbinic Law, Rabbinic biblical commentaries; Theological Polemics in Antiquity; Midrash; Jews and Christians in the Sasanian Empire; Syriac Literature.

Yoav Rinon

Prof. Yoav Rinon

02-5883922
yoav.rinon@mail.huji.ac.il
Room 7724. Reception time: Mon. 14:15-15:15

Research Interests: Homer; Epic poetry; The concept of tragic; Aristotle's Poetics; Tragedy and Comedy in a comparative perspective

Prof. Hannah Rosén

Prof. Hannah Rosen is an authority on Latin Linguistics, whose innovative and integrative publications have shaped the course of contemporary philological and linguistic Latinist research.

Read More
Her expertise in Celtology and translation technique render her work important in the wider Linguistics community.

Selected publications

Read Less
Andrea  Rotstein

Prof. Andrea Rotstein

02-5880302
andrea.rotstein@mail.huji.ac.il
Room 7722. Reception time: by appointment
Research Interests: Greek Iambic poetry; musical competitions in Ancient Greece; ancient literary history; Vergil’s style
Donna Shalev

Prof. Donna Shalev

donna@mail.huji.ac.il
Room 7720. Reception: Sun. and Wed. 12:00-12:30 room 2607, and by appointment in room 7720.

Research Interests: Syntax of the Greek and Latin languages; Ancient dialogue form (language, structure, ancient theory and culture)

Read More
; transmission of formal structures and motifs in literary and technical sources; Translation technique and translations and reception of Plato; Aristotle and Galen; Speech act theory; Discourse analysis; Speech representation.

Read Less